Foo Dogs

If you can't find a sub-forum that matches the subject of your question post it here.
Customer
Advanced Member

Foo Dogs

Post by Customer » Jul 31, 2011 5:02 pm

Gary,

Good day, this is Patrick B. About a month ago I ordered a translation of "warrior spirit" in Chinese from you for a tattoo, and I am extremely satisfied. I have gotten multiple compliments from fellow martial artists and my platoon members. That being said, I am thinking about getting some more work done.

I am thinking about getting a Foo Dog on my back (on my opposite shoulder blade from Yong Shi Jing Shen) and I was wondering what you knew about Foo Dogs (I have some knowledge but was wondering what you know about them) and if a Foo Dog tattoo would go well with my current calligraphy tattoo.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide,

Patrick B.

Gary
The Boss

Post by Gary » Jul 31, 2011 5:07 pm

I don't really have much in the way of "foo dog" artwork. They don't tend to end up in paintings unless they are part of the architecture in a painting of a building.

One important thing to note is that these are not dogs at all. The whole "foo dog" title was apparently made up by some westerner, and it stuck. These are guardian lions in Chinese culture. For centuries, these were found at the left and right of the main doorway to the houses of prominent nobles or ranking officials. In theory, they guard the house from evil. However, in practice, they served more to show social standing. Lower-level people could only have un-carved stone blocks to "guard" their homes.

For those with the guardian lions, the larger the lion the higher your standing in the community.

One of the lions is male, and the other is female. The male will have a ball under one paw. The female has a small lion cub under one of her paws. If you find any without these features, they are probably fake ones made for sale at Walmart or Target.